Use Case Certification

Please install Yoast SEO plugin and enable the breadcrumb option to use this shortcode!

The buildingSMART Software Certification Program provides validation for implementation of standards and solutions based on Industry Foundation Classes (IFC). This service helps software vendors ensure IFC data exchanges are consistent and of reliable quality. As an industry body, buildingSMART develops open digital ways of working based on its standards for end-users and recognises the importance of ensuring confidence in data exchanges. buildingSMART is committed to open, neutral and collaborative ways of working.

buildingSMART’s has two active software certification services to match two primary versions of its standards that are in active use. These are commonly known as IFC2x3 (introduced in 2010) and IFC4 (introduced in 2016). The certifications for each address specific end-user functionality requirements. For example, the exchange of data architectural design purposes.

The service helps ensure the IFC data exchanges become a viable and robust proposition for end-users and the built asset industry at large.

Below is an explanation about the various types of certification available through buildingSMART International and information about how you can get involved.

Current software certifications available:

IFC2×3 Coordination View Certification

The most widely adopted software certification program is IFC2x3. This is tested for the Coordination View Certification 2.0 (CV 2.0) for export and import of IFC2x3-files. The export test options are available to take account of the following exchange requirements.

Export of IFC2x3 files tests the following exchange requirements:

  • Architect model
  • Structure Engineer model
  • Building Service Engineer model – Import

All three exchanges must be supported while the importing application deals with it according to its purpose and functionality.

Data-roundtrip is not included in this view definition and therefore is not tested by this certification.

IFC4 Reference View and Design Transfer View Certification

IFC4 is in the early stages of development and adoption. Based on the experience with Coordination View 2.0, IFC4 Certification has been split into two more specific view definitions to better support the purpose of IFC data exchange.

Reference View

Purpose: Support the coordination of the planning disciplines architecture, structural analysis and building service. Especially support clash detection and resolution of issues resulting from geometry. This can be understood as a CV2.0 with slightly reduced and more focused range.

Design Transfer View

Purpose: Support the transfer of model data to be used for further design, analysis, estimating and facility management tasks. This can be understood as a CV2.0 with some extended range.

Certification of both view definitions will differentiate between export and import. Also, it will support the specific exchange requirements like in the previous CV2.0.

These view definitions do not cover data-roundtrip.

IFC Certification programs are achieved in collaboration with software vendors, the bSI Implementation Support Group (ISG) and Model Support Group (MSG).